Trip from Lyneham

Today I met up with Andy Hawkins who is based at Lyneham and we headed off for a bimble around in Andy’s PA28. He wanted to see Sky Demon running on my 7″ tablet computer – alas that only ended up half happening as I broke the bracket within about a minute of getting strapped into the ‘plane!

It’s the first time I’ve flown in a PA28 – certainly more spacious than I’m used to with my Robins!

Short of ideas, I had suggested we fly over to Newbury and take some pictures of the office where Andy works.

Andy asked if there was anything in particular I wanted to do, so he demonstrated tracking towards the CPT VOR. Radio Nav is something I’m not very strong on, and the spartan avionics fit in my aircraft really limits the amount of practice I’m ever going to get.

We then headed towards Brize where I took some pictures from the overhead of the flying school where Andy did his training before heading back to Lyneham via Fairford.

The approach into Lyneham was executed as a PAR which was fascinating.

A great day out – thanks again Andy.

Explore posts in the same categories: Post PPL

Leave a comment